Honor Societies

We support and celebrate the success of our students.

Each year, students who have distinguished themselves academically can join national academic and professional honor societies. Many students belong to both a national academic honor society and a discipline-specific or pre-professional honor society.

Phi Kappa Phi

Phi Kappa Phi is the oldest, largest, and most selective honor society in the United States. Founded in 1897 at the University of Maine, it has chapters on more than 300 campuses in the U.S., Puerto Rico, and the Philippines.

Phi Eta Sigma

Phi Eta Sigma is the oldest and largest first-year honorary society. It seeks “to encourage and reward high scholastic achievement among members of the freshman classes.”

Omicron Delta Kappa

Omicron Delta Kappa is the national leadership honor society, recognizing students who not only achieve academic excellence, but show themselves to be leaders in scholarship, service, athletics, media, or the arts.

Discipline-Specific Honor Societies

Discipline-specific honor societies invite members based on their success in a particular discipline.

Alpha Kappa DeltaSociology
Alpha Psi Omega – Theatre
Beta Beta Beta – Biological Sciences
Chi Sigma Iota – Counseling
Delta Mu Delta – Business Administration
Iota Sigma Pi – Women in Chemistry
Iota Tau Alpha – Athletic Training
Kappa Delta Pi – Education
Lambda Pi EtaCommunication
Phi Alpha ThetaHistory
Phi Epsilon Kappa – Health and Physical Education, Health Promotion, Exercise Science/Physiology, Sports
Medicine, Recreation and Sport Management
Phi Sigma IotaForeign Language
Phi Sigma TauPhilosophy
Pi Sigma Alpha – Political Science
Psi Chi – Psychology
Sigma Beta Delta – Business Management and Administration
Sigma Iota Rho – International Relations
Sigma Phi Omega – Gerontology
Sigma Tau DeltaEnglish
Sigma Theta Tau – Nursing
Theta Alpha KappaReligious Studies