Club lacrosse national champs

club lacrosse champs

LC won the National College Lacrosse League (NCLL) Division II championship against Cincinnati, the second national title for the Hornets, who first won in 2005.

“We were down 6-2 and made a comeback,” said club President Christian Robin, a senior English major from Williamsburg who is heading to law school at Elon University. “It was an exciting game.”

LC won the championship May 1 after defeating top-ranked Slippery Rock 14-6 and St. Joseph’s 13-7 the day before. There are 118 teams in Division I and II of the NCLL.

Tyler Zinck was named most valuable player in the championship game. He and six teammates were named to the All Tournament Team: Drew Kuechler, Matt Siska, Derek Kegerreis, Emmet Finneran, Rossi Thornton, and Matt Cloninger.

“I’m proud of them,” said Michael Schnur, instructor in economics and the club lacrosse adviser since the club’s inception in 2005. “They showed a lot of heart this year.”

LC got to 2011 championship play after a thrilling 6-5 comeback overtime victory over the University of Richmond earlier in the week. The club team had defeated Radford University 9-4 in the Blue Ridge Conference to make it to the tournament. The team finished the season 10 and 3.

Christian said colleges with good club teams generally have good varsity teams, which helps attract students to LC. “I’ve had four prospective students email me this year,” he said. Schnur said he also hears from parents. “We’re getting to be known,” he said.

Schnur noted that with 67 men’s club lacrosse players and 47 varsity players, more than 10 percent of the males at LC play lacrosse.

Half LC’s starters have played varsity lacrosse at some point in their college careers, Robin said, noting that only two starters are graduating. That should mean another great season next year, he said.

Learn more about the tournament.