Snidow Chapel is the spiritual center of the University and the location of worship services and musical performances throughout the year. Built in 1966 with a capacity for 400+ people, the chapel is named in honor of University of Lynchburg benefactors Clifton L. Snidow Sr., member of the College Board of Trustees (1906-28), and his wife, Sallie E. Snidow.
A focal point of the sanctuary is an art quilt, “Saving Grace,” created by Lynchburg artist Jill Jensen. Measuring approximately 14 ft by 7 ft, the quilt features Christian crosses on one side and symbols of world religions on the other. It truly is a stunning addition to Snidow Chapel.
Spiritual Life Center
At the Spiritual Life Center, we provide services and support for the spiritual needs of students from any and all faith traditions. Come enjoy a cup of coffee with us, hang out in our furnished basement with friends, or meet with one of our spiritual chaplains. We’re located at 500 Brevard Street, behind Schewel Hall.
We seek to provide necessary spiritual and sacred spaces for religious practice, such as prayer mats and rooms, space for silence and contemplation, or a chapel for worship.