Alumni Awards

Nomination submissions for 2014 will be accepted through March 1, 2014.

T. Gibson Hobbs Memorial Award

The T. Gibson Hobbs Memorial Award, named for the late Thomas Gibson Hobbs, a member of the College's first graduating class (1904), is the highest honor given to an alumnus or alumna of the College by the Alumni Association.

The award is given alumni who demonstrate an exemplary record of service in each of 3 areas: church (interpreted in as broad an ecumenical manner as deemed appropriate), community, and alma mater.

T. Gibson Hobbs Memorial Award nomination form

Distinguished Alumni Award

The Distinguished Alumni Award honors alumni who have made outstanding contributions to one or more areas of society, including professional, academic, and service to the College.

Distinguished Alumni Award nomination form

M. Carey Brewer Alumni Award

The M. Carey Brewer Alumni Award, honoring Dr. Carey Brewer '49, seventh president of Lynchburg College, has been presented since 1983. Recipients of the award have made an outstanding contribution in one area of society, including civic, religious life, or service to alma mater.

M. Carey Brewer Alumni Award nomination form

Honorary Alumni Award

The Honorary Alumni Award, presented since 1986, honors non-alumni of Lynchburg College for exceptional interest, dedication, and/or service to the College.

Honorary Alumni nomination form

Sports Hall of Fame

The Lynchburg College Sports Hall of Fame was established in 1978 to recognize and honor outstanding athletes and teams for their athletic performance, leadership, and team contributions while students at Lynchburg College. Since 1975, men's athletics and in 1981, women's athletics began competition in Division 3 of NCAA.

Annually, the Lynchburg College Alumni Association, through its Board of Directors, appoints a committee to review the nominations for the Sports Hall of Fame. Any alumnus/a, staff member or friend of the college may make nominations for this award.

Sports Hall of Fame nomination form


For more information, contact the Office of Alumni Relations at 800.621.1669, 434.544.8293 or

2013 Award Recipients
and Sports Hall of Fame Inductees

T. Gibson Hobbs Memorial Award

Jeffrey L. Aultice '62
James L. Davidson '60
Kathryn Mitchell Pumphrey '75,
'88 MEd (LC Trustee)

Distinguished Alumni Award

John H. Hughes '98, '00, '09 MBA

M. Carey Brewer Award

Tracy K. Epps '01
Delano P. Dougas '00

Honorary Alumni Award

Elizabeth "Betty" W. Howell
(Administrative Assistant, Alumni Relations)

Sports Hall of Fame

Richard A. LaReau '80 - Golf
Chad M. Evans '95 - Baseball
Michael A. Marchetti '94 - Lacrosse
Megan A. Wiseman '03 - Track and Field
Josh A. Zobenica '04 - Cross Country

Teams of Distinction

1977-78 Men's Basketball
1981-82 Field Hockey