Faculty

MA facultyRobin Bates, PhD

bates.r@lynchburg.edu

Shakespeare and early modern British literature; Irish studies; British post-colonial/transnational studies; literary theory; textual scholarship

Casey Clabough, PhD (program director)

clabough@lynchburg.edu

Creative nonfiction (memoir, travel writing, biography); fiction (with emphasis in the historical novel and the supernatural); American literature (all periods with emphasis on the South, Appalachia, and Virginia); African-American literature; editing (editorship of the James Dickey Review); literary theory

Cheryl Coleman, PhD

coleman.cd@lynchburg.edu

20th and 21st century British and American novel; multicultural novel; literature and religion

Leslie Layne, PhD

layne.l@lynchburg.edu

English language and linguistics; history of English; Southern and Appalachian regional dialects

Laura Long, PhD

long.l@lynchburg.edu

Creative writing: fiction, poetry, creative nonfiction; life writing; environmental literature; cultural contexts of literature; American literature; Appalachia

Laura Marello, MFA equivalent

marello@lynchburg.edu

Fiction writing; contemporary fiction; experimental fiction; women's literature; multicultural women's literature; Latin American and European modern and contemporary fiction; expatriate writers in Paris 1880-1920

Wendy Miles, MFA

miles.w@lynchburg.edu

Creative writing: poetry (including traditional poetic forms), short fiction, and creative nonfiction; contemporary poetry, fiction and creative/literary nonfiction

Beth Savage, PhD

savage@lynchburg.edu

Literature of the long 18th century in England; gender studies; drama, particularly comedy; literary theory; the "Laboring Poets" of the 18th century

Elza Tiner, PhD

tiner@lynchburg.edu

Medieval English and Latin literature, with emphasis on Latin sources for the development of Early English biblical drama

Allison Wilkins, MFA

wilkins.a@lynchburg.edu

Poetry (19th, 20th & 21st c.); modernism; forms of poetry; translation; creative writing; ecocriticism; American Literature Pre-1900

The cover of Dr. Robin Bates's book, Shakespeare and the Cultural Colonization of Ireland.

Dr. Robin Bates's book, Shakespeare and the Cultural Colonization of Ireland

The cover of Dr. Casey Clabough's book, The Warrior's Path.

Dr. Casey Clabough's book, The Warrior's Path

The cover of Dr. Elza Tiner's book, Teaching with the Records of Early English Drama.

Dr. Elza Tiner's book, Teaching with the Records of Early English Drama

Professor Wilkins, Girl Who (CW Books, Forthcoming Winter 2014)