Program-Specific Instructions

MA - English

The English MA student orientation takes place via a meeting/appointment with the graduate program director, Dr. Casey Clabough (c.clabough@yahoo.com). Please contact Dr. Clabough directly to arrange an appointment. Each student should familiarize himself/herself first, however, with the general orientation information below.

MA - History

Please contact the graduate program director, Dr. Nichole Sanders (sanders.n@lynchburg.edu), in order to register for classes and learn about expectations for graduate students in history.

MA - Music

All new students should contact Dr. Jong Kim (kim@lynchburg.edu or 434.544.8443) in order to register for classes and learn about the music theory placement exam and expectations for graduate students in music.

MBA

MBA orientation will be held during MBA 600. Contact Dr. Atul Gupta at gupta@lynchburg.edu for any questions about the program.

MEd - Counseling

Orientation for new students who enter the program in the fall will take place the first night of classes in COUN 601 Professional Identity and Function of Clinical Mental Health Counselors and COUN 625 Professional Identity and Function of School Counselors. For those new students who begin the program during the spring or summer, orientation meetings should be scheduled with Dr. Jeanne Booth (booth@lynchburg.edu), program director for School Counseling, or Dr. Michael Williams, (Williams.MA1@lynchburg.edu), program director for Clinical Mental Health Counseling.

MEd - Curriculum and Instruction

The student orientation for the MEd in curriculum and instruction takes place via a meeting with the graduate program director, Dr. John Walker. Please contact him at walker.jc@lynchburg.edu or 434.544.8032 to arrange an appointment.

MEd - Educational Leadership

Student orientation for this program is done on an individual basis. Please contact the program director, Dr. Roger Jones, at jones@lynchburg.edu or 434.544.8444 to make an appointment.

MEd - Reading

Please contact Dr. Susan Thompson (thompson.s@lynchburg.edu) or Dr. Jeri Watts (watts.jh@lynchburg.edu) for information on orientation for the MEd in reading program.

MEd - Science Education

An initial orientation meeting for all new students with the program director, Dr. Woody McKenzie (434.544.8480 or mckenzie@lynchburg.edu) is required. Please contact him as soon as possible to arrange an initial meeting.

MEd - Special Education

Dr. Gena Barhill (barnhill@lynchburg.edu or 434.544.8771) is the program director. Please contact Dr. Barnhill or your academic advisor for further information.

MSN

The student orientation for the MSN program is required and done on an individual basis. Please contact the program director, Dr. Nancy Overstreet (overstreet.n@lynchburg.edu), to schedule a meeting.

DPT

The Department of Physical Therapy will orient the entry-level doctor of physical therapy students in a face-to-face session on the day immediately preceding the beginning of class for the cohort (May of the first year of study). The orientation will be a required meeting time from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. and will include the required Lynchburg College stations of orientation (e.g., Safety and Security, Business Office, Health Services) and also the program-specific orientation.