Sigma Tau Delta

Sigma Tau Delta Induction Ceremony - Friday, March 20, 2015 at 4:30 p.m. in the Drysdale West Room

Sigma Tau Delta sealSigma Tau Delta is an International English Honor Society founded in 1924. It seeks to cultivate creative ability among advanced students with a major or minor in English. Lynchburg College has had a chapter, Nu Beta, since 1928. Once a member, you are eligible to compete for scholarships, internships, and writing awards sponsored by the Society.

Students who meet the requirements for initiation at Lynchburg College: have completed a minimum of 4 college courses in English language or literature (English 203 or higher), have earned at least a 3.3 average in English and a 3.0 in general scholarship, have earned a rank at least in the highest 35% of their class in general scholarship, are currently a junior or senior, and have the approval of the English Department faculty.

For more information, contact Dr. Leslie Layne, 434.544.8686, and Dr. Robin Bates, 434.544.8535,

President: Deirdre Scanlon

Vice President: Sarah Bryant

Historian: Erin Gough

Treasurer: Colin Pendleton

Induction Ceremony

Sigma Tau Delta inducteesOn March 1, 2013, Lynchburg College held their annual ceremony for new inductees into the Nu Beta Chapter of Sigma Tau Delta.

Mary Bean
Melissa Berkowitz
Rebecca Brummett
Samantha Chapman
Brett Deutchman
Annloyd Dorris
Janine Fowler
Erin Gough
Paige Hammock
Kenley Hoover
Emma Kinsey
Colin Pendleton
Taylor Sands
Deirdre Scanlon
Jessie Schnurer
Savannah Thompson
Leah Vitello
Nicole Warkoski