Men's Lax Coach of the Year

Wednesday May 4 2011


Ten men's lacrosse players were named to the Old Dominion Athletic Conference (ODAC) all-conference teams, while Steve Koudelka was named Coach of the Year.

Koudelka's Hornets are 13-5 on the season and riding a nine-game winning streak as the team advances in the ODAC Tournament. It is Koudelka's third conference Coach of the Year award, the others coming in 2003 and 2005.

Four Hornets received first-team honors: Dylan Hoff, Jeff Schwartz, Joseph Lisicky and Franc Cook.

Hoff, a junior attack, earned second-team all-conference honors last season and was the Rookie of the Year in 2009. He leads the team with 35 goals, 17 assists, and 52 points, ranks in the top 10 in the conference in all three categories, and is tied for second with three game-winning tallies.

Schwartz, a junior short-stick specialist, has excelled on face-offs this season. He leads the ODAC with a .661 winning percentage and is tops on the team with 107 ground balls.

Lisicky, a sophomore defender, is usually matched with the opposition's top offensive threat. A starter in all 18 games, he leads the team with 37 caused turnovers (21 ahead of the nearest Hornet), has scooped 68 ground balls and also has scored eight goals.

Cook, a junior goalie, was an honorable mention to the All-ODAC team a season ago. He leads the conference with a 6.84 goals-against average and is second with a .596 save percentage while starting all 18 contests.

Junior attack Ben Sauer, sophomore midfielder Max Voumard, junior midfielder Andrew Wilfong and junior defender Jon Lombardo all took home second-team accolades. Sauer ranks second on the team with 14 assists to go with 16 goals and 30 points. Voumard is second on the team with 25 goals, six in extra-man situations, while Wilfong is second on the squad with 27 goals and also has added seven assists and 42 ground balls. Lombardo helps anchor the top defense in the conference that allows just seven goals per game. He has scooped 34 ground balls and has caused 16 turnovers so far this season.

Senior midfielder Eddie Bilinkas and senior defender Pat Luckhurst round out the LC award winners as honorable mentions to the all-conference team.

The Hornets, ranked #18 in the latest USILA poll, travel to #8 Roanoke College Sunday for the ODAC Championship game (game-time has not yet been set). Roanoke is the top seed in the six-team tournament while LC is #3, looking to capture the program's fourth conference crown as well as the ODAC's automatic bid to the Division III Championship Tournament.