LC shines at EU simulation

Tuesday November 30 2010


European Union 2010Two LC students won Outstanding Parliamentarian Awards at the Mid-Atlantic European Union Simulation in Washington, D.C., Nov. 18-20.

Alexandra Jadovich '12 was recognized for her committee work and Justin Lincho '11 for his work in the plenary session.

The 18-member delegation represented France at the simulation, which brought together some 170 students from 12 universities and colleges who represent various member states of the European Union. This year's simulation focused on the Mediterranean policy of the EU, along with efforts to cut pollution in the Mediterranean Sea, and attention to the Palestinian-Israeli conflict.

"LC students significantly contributed to the quality of the simulation and its final documents," said Dr. Marek Payerhin, associate professor of international relations and political science.

"Students did an excellent job in their roles of fourteen members of the European Parliament (MEPs), EU Commissioner (Jacob Cavallo '11), government ministers (Thomas Key '11 and Greg Sigler '11), and President Sarkozy (Jordan Curet '11), as well as the official representatives of Lynchburg College."

The students also garnered a number of other recognitions. LC students were elected chairs or vice chairs of three party groups, including the two largest European parties. Patrick McCleary '13 led the Liberal Democrats, while Jillian Gates '13 and David Warner '12 were vice chairs of the Conservatives/Christian Democrats and Socialists. Warner went on to become the chair of one of two parliamentary committees (foreign affairs), while Matt Dotten '12 became the rapporteur of the other (environment).

The delegation also visited the French Embassy for a diplomatic briefing by its political officer, as well as a reception and meeting with DC-area alumni of Lynchburg College, arranged and hosted by Tom Cassidy '73, director of alumni programs.

Other students attending were Natalie Armel '11, Samantha Bryant '11, David Busch '13, Nicholas Byron '13, Kaleigh Giles '12, Amylynn Hollingsworth '12, Zachary Schreiner '11, and Graham Smith '12.