Westover Student Leaders

Westover Honors executive board members for 2015-16Each year the Westover Honors students elect a Student Executive Board. The board plans student-led events and gives the Westover students a more effective voice in the program by acting as a liaison between the directors and the fellows.

Westover Honors executive board members for 2015-16 are pictured at right.

Society of Westover Fellows Executive Board 2015

Hannah Cooke

Hannah Cooke, President

Hannah Cooke, ’16 is from Annadale, Virginia. An Environmental Science major, she also has a minor in International Relations. Hannah is heavily involved in campus life. She works directly with incoming first-year students as a Connection Leader, is an officer in the French club, a member of Beta Beta Beta (biology national honorary) as well as holds a leadership position in Kappa Delta. She also co-chairs the Conservation and Environment Committee which she founded in January, 2015. Hannah loves to travel and spent summer 2014 in Quebec City, Canada studying French at Laval University; she is hoping to participate in the Westover spring break study abroad program to Greece in 2016. Whenever she has free time you can find her reading or watching Tolkien’s Lord of the Rings trilogy!

Spencer Murray

Spencer Murray, Vice President, Internal Affairs

Spencer Murray, ’16 is a History and Political Science double major from Shaker Heights, Ohio. He is a third year Connection Leader Coordinator at Lynchburg College. Spencer’s academic accomplishments have been many; he is a member of Phi Eta Sigma, the freshman academic honorary, and Phi Alpha Theta, the national history honorary society. His historical research was recently awarded a first-place award in the Student Scholar Showcase. Spencer is also an active member of the Sigma Nu fraternity. Spencer spent the summer of 2014 studying in Europe on the Lynchburg College “How Wars End” program.

Judge Browning

Judge Browning, Vice President, External Affairs

Judge Browning, ’17 is from Danville, Virginia and is a Political Science major with a double minor in History and Economics. He is a member of Phi Delta Theta, where he has held the title of Philanthropy Chair and Scholarship Chair. He currently serves as the Vice President of Phi Eta Sigma, is also a member of Pi Sigma Alpha, the political science honorary. Judge is actively involved in campus-wide governance and holds the title of treasurer for the Lynchburg College Student Government Association. Judge recently completed his first study abroad experience as he spent spring break in London examining the life of Sir Winston Churchill. He also spends considerable time on the field as a member of the Lynchburg College inter-collegiate rugby club.

Sarah Meloy

Sarah Meloy, Secretary

Sarah Meloy, ’16 is a native of Woodbine, New Jersey. Sarah is majoring in English with an emphasis on writing and minoring in Political Science and Spanish. She is also a member of Phi Eta Sigma. Heavily involved in her major, Sarah participates in the English ambassadors program and is the Treasurer of the English Club. She is also a member of Sigma Tau Delta, the National English Honor Society, and Phi Sigma Iota, the International Foreign Language Honor Society. Sarah studied abroad in Argentina over the summer of 2014.

Abigail Anderson

Abigail Anderson, Treasurer

Abby Anderson, ’16 is majoring in Environmental Science. A local student, Abby is from nearby Goode, Virginia. Actively involved in campus life, Abby is a Connection Leader Coordinator for Lynchburg College and a member of Phi Eta Sigma. Traveling with her military family across the United States helped shaped many aspects of her life and aspirations. Abby also participated in the Churchill Seminar as part of the Westover Spring Break study abroad program. She wants to spend her life exploring environmental science, and she believes that research in wildlife conservation and the environment hold the key to our future.

Emily Horton

Emily Horton, Community Outreach Coordinator

Emily Horton, ’18 is a native of Bristol, Virginia, but currently resides in Forest, Virginia. A Biomedical Science major, she plans to continue her education in pharmacology school once she completes her undergraduate degree. Emily currently works at the Jamerson YMCA where she is a lifeguard and teaches swim lessons. Her hobbies include DIY projects, reading fiction and spending time with her dog. Emily is also member of Phi Eta Sigma.

Kimber Butler

Kimberly Butler, Cultural Events Chair

Kimber Butler, ’18 is from Roanoke, Virginia. Currently undeclared, she spent her first year in college exploring her academic options. Aside from being a Westover Fellow, she also competes in varsity track and field events; she throws the discus and shot put in competition. Kimber is also a Connection Leader and a member of Phi Eta Sigma.

Maggie Payne

Maggie Payne, Public Relations Chair

Maggie Payne, ’18, from Charlottesville, Virginia, is pursuing a double major in Spanish and Marketing. Already heavily involved in student life, Maggie is a Connections Leader, and a member of the Student Activity Board. She enjoys working as a Young Life leader and has volunteered at a local horse rescue facility. She is planning to study abroad in Spain in the near future. Maggie is also a member of Phi Eta Sigma.

Brooke Thompson

Brooke Thompson, Publications Chair

Brooke Thompson, ’17 was born and raised in Havre de Grace, Maryland, and is a double major in Biomedical Science and Psychology. She is a member of the Psychology Club, and is a PASS Leader, where she serves as a peer tutor for students in the major. Her academic accomplishments have been many and she is a member of Phi Eta Sigma and Psi Chi, the national psychology honors society. Actively engaged in the College’s theatre program, she served as assistant director of the Theatre Department’s production of Insights from Inside. Brooke is planning to attend medical school when she completes her undergraduate degree. She is the most recent recipient of “Outstanding General Chemistry Student.” She enjoys running, reading, film, playing the banjo, and spending time with her family.

Logan Evans

Logan Evans, Campus Involvement Chair

Logan Evans, ’18 hails from Williamsburg, Virginia and is majoring in Athletic Training. He plays club basketball at Lynchburg College. He enjoys swimming, hanging out with friends and going to the gym. He can most likely be found coaching swimming in a summer league in his hometown of Williamsburg. Logan also participated in the Churchill Seminar during spring 2015 and he is a member of Phi Eta Sigma.

Dylan Elliot

Dylan Elliot, Academic Programming Chair

Dylan Elliot, ’16 is a Psychology and Human Resources Management double major from Lynchburg Virginia. He is Co-Head Lab assistant for the psychology program, a PASS Leader for macroeconomics, and a Connection Leader. Dylan is a member of Sigma Nu Fraternity, Phi Eta Sigma, Psi Chi, the international psychology honors society where he serves that organization as its treasurer.