English Awards

Outstanding Senior Award in English

Savannah Evans and President Garren

2014-15 Savannah Evans
2013-14 Leah Vitello
2012-13 Theresa Gillette
2011-12 Erin Grogan

Established by the School of Humanities and Social Sciences and given for the first time in 2012, this award was created to honor the most outstanding senior English major. Criteria for the award include high academic achievement, student participation in extracurricular and scholarly activities, contribution to campus life at LC, and recommendations from individual members of the English Department.

Elsie E. Bock Writing Award

2014-15 Taylor Neiser
2013-14 Charlotte Galamb
2012-13 Evelyn Keeney-Ritchie
2011-12 Jonathan Haggerty
2010-11 Paul Williams

The Elsie E. Bock Writing Award is presented annually at the Academic Awards Banquet to recognize a student who, through the freshman composition course, has demonstrated a high degree of proficiency in argumentative and persuasive writing through a strong personal voice. Ms. Bock served as an English professor at the College until her death in 1996.

Floyd H. and Rowe M. Crews Memorial Award

J. Lynn Windsor and President Garren

2014-15 Jessica Windsor
2013-14 Emma Kinsey
2012-13 Nicole Warkoski
2011-12 Diana Clark and Parisa Ashraf
2010-11 Melissa Palmer and Laura Payne

This award was established in 1962 by the children of Floyd H. Crews, Class of 1922, and Rowe M. Crews for the purpose of encouraging students to develop their ability in the field of creative writing. This award is given annually to the student who makes the best written contribution to the student publications of Lynchburg College.

Laura Jeter Parker Award

Erin Gough
Deirdre Scanlon
2014-15 Erin Gough and Deirdre Scanlon
2013-14 Samantha Chapman
2012-13 Brogan Franklin
2011-12 Erin Grogan
2010-11 Kellie Gray

This award was established in memory of Laura Jeter Parker, associate professor of English at Lynchburg College, by her by friends, students, and colleagues. She served as director of Freshman English, the Junior English Program, and the Writing Laboratory until her death in 1972. The annual awards recognize graduating seniors who have demonstrated excellence in their English studies.

Libbie Keeton LaPrade Creative Writing Award

Colin Pendleton and President Garren

2014-15 Colin Pendleton
2013-14 Nicole Warkoski
2012-13 Brogan Franklin
2011-12 Brogan Franklin
2010-11 Colette Weeks

This award was established to honor the memory of Libbie Keeton Laprade, an English major and 1947 graduate of the College, by her husband, Wallace ’48, and their children. The award is presented annually to a student showing exceptional promise in writing in multiple genres.

Mervyn W. Williamson Award

Janine Fowler and President Garren

2014-15 Janine Fowler
2013-14 Ashley Rynard
2012-13 Steve Jones
2011-12 Paul Bucklen
2010-11 Lauren Lamoly

This award was established in memory of Dr. Mervyn Williamson by his wife, Rhoda L. Williamson, to recognize a full-time undergraduate student who most clearly reflects Dr. Williamson’s love for literature and Christian ideals. A 1948 graduate of the College, Dr. Williamson was a professor of English and chairman of the English Department at the time of his death in 1983. He was a renowned expert in linguistics, dialects, and local history.

The Belle M. Hill Creative Poetry Award

Deirdre Scanlon and President Garren

2014-15 Deirdre Scanlon
2013-14 Adam Pollak
2012-13 Sarah Lavinder
2011-12 Sarah Lavinder
2010-11 Benjamin Blanks

This award was established in memory by Belle M. Hill’s sons to be presented annually to a student who has demonstrated a high degree of proficiency in creative poetry writing. Mrs. Hill taught a variety of English literature and poetry classes in the College’s English department.

The Charles H. Barrett Creative Writing Award

Erin Gough and President Garren

2014-15 Erin Gough
2013-14 Colin Pendleton
2012-13 Diana Clark
2011-12 Steve Hile and Taelor Skinner
2010-11 Taelor Skinner

This award was established by Marilyn A. Cadoff, a 1968 alumna of the College and former student of Professor Barrett, in his memory as a much-beloved teacher and mentor to many students. Dr. Barrett directed the Freshman English program at the College from 1960-1979 and taught a variety of writing courses. The award is presented annually to recognize a student who has demonstrated a high degree of proficiency in creative writing.

The Rona L. Adams & Brian Adams Yates Scholarship

Isabel Zaru-Roque and President Garren

2014-15 Isabel Zaru-Roque
2013-14 Jasmine Smith
2012-13 Janine Fowler
2011-12 Michelle Maples

Established in 2004 to honor Brian Adams Yates and amended in 2006 to honor Rona L. Adams as well, this fellowship grant is awarded to a History major or minor and to an English major or minor for study abroad.

The Barbara C. Scotland Scholarship Fund

Angela Arthur and President Garren

2014-15 Angela Arthur

Established in 2014 by Barbara C. Scotland ’86 in appreciation of the high quality education and faculty support she received while at Lynchburg College, this award will be given to a second-semester junior or first-semester senior English major who demonstrates superior oral and written communication skills and who intends to pursue a career which incorporates these skills or who demonstrates intent to pursue an advanced degree in the field.