Academic Affairs

Dr. Julius Sigler

A Message from Dr. Julius Sigler
Vice President and Dean for Academic Affairs

Welcome to Lynchburg College - my alma mater!

Welcome to a thriving academic community - a community in which talented and dedicated faculty members notice, challenge, and encourage students daily. Most classes are small and we expect active student involvement in all aspects of learning, from out-of-class assignments and class discussions to group projects.

Our stress on global learning through study abroad provides perspectives that help you to connect to the evolving global community. Student-faculty research will deepen your understanding and allow you the possibility of actually creating new knowledge. Our emphasis on leadership development will allow you to develop your own leadership skills through participation in student government, Greek life, or in one of the many other student clubs and organizations. You may experience the joy and challenge of competing on the playing fields, and you will be involved in the social and cultural life of the campus.

Direct Reports

Ms. Wendy L. Martin
Executive Assistant
Office of the Vice President and Dean
for Academic Affairs
544.8232
martin.w@lynchburg.edu

Dr. Sally Selden 
Associate Dean for Academic Affairs
544.8266
selden@lynchburg.edu

Ms. Ann Furrow
Administrative Assistant
Associate Dean for Academic Affairs
544.8695
furrow@lynchburg.edu

Mr. Chris Millson-Martula
Director, Library Services
544.8339
millsonmartula@lynchburg.edu

Dr. David Freier
Director, LCSR/Senior Symposium
544.8652
freier@lynchburg.edu

Mr. Jay K. Webb
Registrar/Assistant Dean for Academic and
Student Information
544.8218
webb@lynchburg.edu

Ms. Barbara Rothermel
Director, Daura Gallery
544.8343
rothermel@lynchburg.edu

Dr. Edward DeClair
Assistant Dean for International Programs,
Director of Westover Honors Program
544.8481
declair_e@lynchburg.edu

Dr. Jack Toms
Director, Athletics
544.8498
toms@lynchburg.edu

Ms. Mari Normyle
Assistant Dean for Academic and Career Services
544.8235
normyle@lynchburg.edu