Recent Awards and Achievements


  • The men's lacrosse team won the 2014 ODAC Championship and advanced to the second round of the NCAA national tournament.
  • Sophomore Tom Sippie won the 400-meter race in the NCAA Division III Indoor Track and Field National Championship on March 15 in Lincoln, Neb. His was the first indoor national championship for the Hornets since 2001.
  • The men's track and field team won the Old Dominion Athletic Conference (ODAC) Indoor title for the 17th consecutive time and the Outdoor title for the sixth consecutive time.
  • The women's soccer team took three of the four top ODAC awards for its 2013 season. Dessi Dupuy '15 was voted the ODAC Player of the Year, Rachel Sadowski '14 earned ODAC/Farm Bureau Insurance Scholar-Athlete of the Year. Rachel also received the prestigious NCAA Postgraduate Scholarship, based on her academic, athletic, and community achievements during her career at LC and will receive a one-time $7,500 scholarship to be used for postgraduate study. She is only the fifth Hornet to receive a NCAA Postgraduate and is the first women's soccer player to earn the award. Dr. Todd Olsen collected ODAC Coach of the Year accolades.  


  • Lynchburg College’s School of Business and Economics (SOBE) ranked 10th in Leadership Excellence magazine as one of the best leadership development programs in the nation.
  • Dr. Brian Crim, associate professor of history, wrote a book titled, Antisemitism in the German Military Community and the Jewish Response, 1914-1938, which was published by Lexington Books.
  • Dr. Elizabeth Farnsworth ’80, ’84 MEd, assistant professor of counselor education, recently received the Counselor Education award from the Lynchburg Area Counselors Association, a chapter of the Virginia Counselors Association.
  • President Kenneth Garren recently received the Roanoke College Medal for outstanding contributions to the college and professional accomplishments. He also received one of Lynchburg's Mayor's Awards of Excellence.
  • Dr. John Eric Goff, professor of physics, continues to receive national media coverage for his knowledge about the intersection of sports and physics. For his knowledge about the new Brazuca soccer ball, used in the World Cup, he did interviews on All Things Considered with Terry Gross on National Public Radio (NPR),, and WPOV in Washington, D.C. He also wrote a piece for Live Mint, a newspaper in New Delhi, India with an affiliation with The Wall Street Journal.
  • Dr. Charlotte Guynes, professor of health promotion, received the College/University Health Education Professional of the Year Award from the Southern District AAHPERD (American Alliance for Health, Physical Education, Recreation and Dance), which covers 17 states from Texas to Virginia. Dr. Guynes’ areas of professional interest and research include sleep disorders, caffeine, bone density disorders, HIV/AIDS, Chronic Fatigue Syndrome, and child/family violence.
  • Dr. Laura Long's new book, Out of Peel Tree, is recommended by the Oprah Book Club as a book that "every joy-seeking woman needs to read." See the story on
  • Laura Marello, professor of English, was one of 10 finalists selected by Narrative, a major online fiction magazine, in its fall 2013 story contest for her novel excerpt, The Lighthouse Murders.
  • Wendy Miles ’90, assistant professor of English, won the 2014 Patricia Dobler Poetry Award for her poem, “Float” from among 560 entries.
  • Richard Pumphrey ’74, professor of art, created the bust of Bob Slaughter, the D-Day veteran largely responsible for the creation of the National D-Day memorial in Bedford, Va. The bust was unveiled on Memorial Day.
  • Dr. Beth Savage, assistant professor of English, has received a Chawton House Library Fellowship in conjunction with the University of Southampton (England) for October 2014.


  • Evelyn “Evy” Keeney-Ritchie ’16 is one of 50 students nationwide awarded a $1,000 Study Abroad Grant from The Honor Society of Phi Kappa Phi.
  • LC students won four awards at the National Model United Nations 2014 in New York City March 30-April 3: two Outstanding Position Paper Awards, one Outstanding Delegates in Committee Award for the UN Environment Programme (UNEP) Committee, and an Honorable Mention Award for the entire LC Delegation representing the Republic of the Philippines.
  • LC students received two of the eight awards presented at the Mid-Atlantic European Union Simulation in Washington, D.C. Nov. 14-16. Elizabeth O’Hara ’15 won the Outstanding Commissioner Award and Courtney Elliott ’14 won the Outstanding Parliamentarian Award. For the first time, there were also four Honorable Mentions presented and two of them went to LC students Justin Hamlet ’15 and Ryan Connors ’16.
  • Garrett Corless '14 is the 2013-14 Sommerville Scholar, the highest recognition given by the College for a distinguished academic record. He is a chemistry major with minors in mathematics and biology.
  • Karen Butler '14 was named the 2014 Robert L. Hill Distinguished Senior, an award given to a scholar in the top 2 percent of the graduating class. She is a chemistry major with minors in psychology and biology.